Patience Is A Virtue

Posted on October 23, 2012

0



I’m writing to you from the comforts of my home, cosy and pleasant. It’s that time of year again. You know; the leaves turn red and golden and start to fall from the trees, it gets a little chilly and the air is crisp. It’s that time when it’s not yet cold enough for a winter jacket but a scarf would be much appreciated. It’s a time for long walks in the forest, for raking leaves off your lawn and for knitting scarves. Okay, maybe that’s a little too traditional. What can I say? Autumn melancholy is kicking in, hard.

Autumn Leaves

I love autumn

I could be writing about my favorite café in Paris, or my favorite secondhand shop in London. I could tell stories about the people I met in Granada or the things I saw in Berlin. There are so many travel related things I could discuss on here, but today I feel I owe it to myself to get a little more personal, a little more honest. For a while now, I’ve been restless and I can’t help but feel like I’m waiting for something.

I’m waiting for change. A change of scenery, a change of pace, something big to happen in my life. I’ve decided I was ready for the next step forward and I made my plans to get there. But now that the flights have been booked, the budget sorted out and the initial kick is wearing off, there’s not much else to do but being patient.

They say that good things come to those who wait. I guess that explains why they made waiting so damn hard, since a good thing don’t come easy. For now, I’m left stuck at home, reading the adventures of others who are out there, actually doing what I feel I should be doing now. Although their words inspire me, seeing pictures of a white sandy beach on Ko Lipe or the U-bein bridge in Burma make me feel impatient and anxious to go now, immediately, right this frickin’ second! It gets terribly frustrating from time to time and yet I somehow can’t seem to simply stop myself from looking.

It’s been a while now since things started to fall apart for me, a while now since I decided I’m going to travel. It’s a comforting

thought, something I can look forward to and hold on to when things get rough. Lately, however, that thought has turned into a mild obsession of sorts. I spend my days reading articles about the countries I’m going to visit, planning routes and considering what to pack. I imagine myself strumming a guitar on a beach at night, exploring jungles or fast-paced cities and facing eye to eye with an elephant. I can nearly taste the exquisite plates of curry I’m about to have…

In my mind, I’m practically in Asia already. With all this hoping, wishing, planning and dreaming that I’m doing, I’m nearly skipping the part where one should just be ‘living’. I realized I was bordering hardcore escapism during the last bike ride from my hometown to the next, when I suddenly noticed the leaves had already changed their colors and there were mushrooms everywhere. It had become autumn, and I hadn’t even noticed. I love this time of year, fall has always been my favorite season. But this year, I almost let it pass me by while I was sitting, waiting, wishing.

Life Is Made of Little Moments

Came across this in Seville… So true!

A little daydreaming never hurt anybody, but I’m taking it too far. It’s time to pull my head out of the clouds and focus on what’s right in front of me. I live right next to a beautiful nature reserve, Amsterdam is about 20 minutes away and I could be on a beach in less than 2 hours. Though a bikini won’t really be an option at this time of year, there’s still enough to do. I may not be having any Pad Thai yet, but I could have fried kibbeling after a long walk in the dunes. No sticky rice for me, but plenty of pannenkoeken met spek en stroop after a day spent in the forest!

And it gets even better: in the midst of all my Asia mania I had almost forgotten that I’m flying off to Rome in less than 3 weeks for a romantic getaway with Nick. Not the slightest thing to skip over…

Waiting for travel is hard, but I’m done making it even harder for myself. It’s time to drag my ass back to earth and start enjoying life’s little moments again. No time like the present. Especially when you have something to look forward to!

Don’t you hate waiting just as much as I do? 

Posted in: Personal