The Quiet Week

Posted on November 16, 2012

6



I’ve been a bit off the radar this past week; no posts, no social media activity, nada. The reason behind my slacking is that I’ve been quite busy on other fronts, and sometimes you just gotta set your priorities straight. As much as I love writing, there are other important things that need to be done.

So what have I been up to?

Well, I’m in the middle of a mindfulness course.

After all the commotion of the past years, there were a lot of things I hadn’t dealt with yet. Your mind is like a basket, the more you fill it up, the heavier it gets. Add too much and it becomes too heavy to drag all that baggage around.

I admit, I was a little sceptic at first. For the first few weeks I was unable to clear my head and it seemed like waste of time to me. But I kept doing my exercises and got better and better at turning my attention inwards. I started noticing things about myself that may have always been there, I just never stopped long enough to notice them. I’m finally starting to pay attention to my ways and the reason behind them and I must say that it’s very confronting.

I know very well that before I’m able to go and experience my trip to the fullest, I have some things to work out first. You can travel as far as you want, but wherever you go, you’ll always take yourself and your problems with you. Hopping on that plane now to just leave the situation would be escapism, and though it would be nice to be away from it all, that’s not what I’m trying to get out of it. I’m trying to make a change in my life that will benefit me in the long run and I want to make it so that I can be happy whatever my situation is.

I still have 3 months to go before I hop on the plane to Bangkok, but for me, the journey begins here. Right now, it feels like everything is falling apart, but deep down inside I know that what is really happening is that the old is crumbling to pieces, making way for something new.

I realize this isn’t the kind of post you’d expect on your average travel blog, but then again, this is my blog and honesty is of the utmost importance to me. It wouldn’t feel fair not to mention it, not when it’s such a big part of my life at the moment. Besides, an inward journey is just as important (if not more) than a physical one. Don’t worry, I’ll be back, and I promise my next post will be a bit more upbeat.

Posted in: Personal