My Very First Award

Posted on December 10, 2012

9



I’m proud to announce that I’ve been nominated for my very first award; The Sunshine Award!

The Sunshine Award is given to bloggers who positively and creatively inspire other bloggers. I think I speak for any blogger when I say that that’s exactly what you hope to do by putting your stories out there. It’s always good to see appreciation for the things you share, and I’m very honored to be nominated. So here’s thanks to Oceanbound’s Adventures for making my day! It definitely put a smile upon my face.

See? That's how happy I am now.

See? That’s how happy I am now.

Along with this award come some rules. It is as follows:

  • Once you are nominated, you must link the blog post to the person that nominated you.
  • Then you must answer some questions about yourself
  • nominate 10 other bloggers and link back to their pages.
  • Once that is done, you must post a comment to each nominee’s page to let them know they have been nominated.

Honestly, I think the questions are a bit lame, but hey, it’s the thought that counts and this is no time to be ungrateful! You’ll find the questions and answers below, as well as my list of nominated bloggers. They’re all good reads, so be sure to pay them a visit!

1. Who is your favorite philosopher? I think it has to be Alan Watts. I posted a little video of him a while back, you can watch it here.

2.  What is your favorite number? Lucky number 33!

3.  What is your favorite animal? I have a weird thing about Lynxes, there’s something just so beautiful and gracious about them.

4.  What are your Facebook and Twitter?  Follow me on Facebook, or Twitter.

5.  What is your favorite time of day? Umm, I don’t really have a favorite. I enjoy every day, all day.

6. What is your favorite holiday? I’ve never celebrated Thanksgiving, but I think the idea of taking a moment to be grateful is beautiful. Also, I love turkey.

7.  What is your favorite physical activity? Dancing! It’s the best way to express pure joy.

8.  What is your favorite non alcoholic drink? Ginger Ale. Though I recently tried cream soda for the first time, DAMN that stuff is good!

9.  What is your favorite flower? I love orchids.

 10.  What is your passion? Writing, travel and music.

So, now that I’m nominated, it’s time for me to pay it forward and nominate 10 other bloggers. After giving it some thought, I came up with the following (no particular order!) list and here’s why.

OhShoot! Photography – I nominated Wendy of OhShoot! because I think she has a unique way of capturing the world around her. She knows how to use her lens to bring out the best in people, or show beauty in a place where it isn’t obvious. I know her by heart, so I know how passionate she is about what she does and that alone is enough reason to deserve this award.

MeerTells – Whenever I get an e-mail notification of one of her new posts, I read it immediately. She’s a fantastic storyteller, she has a unique way of painting you a picture and it’s almost like you’re right next to her, living the story. She’s honest in her recantation, doesn’t shy away from spilling the beans even if it isn’t pretty and that’s what I admire about her.

A Thinking Traveler – What I love about Rubella is that she doesn’t shy away from adding depth to her stories. She had the courage to share some really personal things on her blog, which is something not everyone is brave enough to do. This makes her different from “just another travel blog”, as you can feel that she puts a lot of thought into her writing. I love reading her stories!

Adultescence – Someone who doesn’t blog enough, if you ask me! She’s one of the first people I started following on here and I always look forward to read what she has to say (this is a hint, Kristine, you ought to post more ;) ). I loved her adventures in Europe as I recognized a lot of myself in there. I hope this award motivates her to share her talent more often!

The Moon Or A Hot Air Balloon – I came across her blog by accident, but turned out to have so much in common with her that it almost got scary! Not only are we both vocalists, but she lives in Bangkok (where I’ll be soon) and we even have the same name. Reading her Thailand stories make me want to move fast forward to February cause I just can’t wait any longer!

Fly Away World – Emily doesn’t just write about travel, she writes about the importance of doing it mindfully. I think the world could use more people like her, who are conscious of their impact on their surroundings and what we can do to make it a better place. Her post on the emotional impact of deciding to travel really resonated with me.

Cloud Corinne – Another blogger who doesn’t post enough! I came across her blog on a boring, rainy day and it made me laugh out loud. I’m a big fan of her humor and wit.

A Traveler’s Tale – Andrew is a very talented writer who’s currently traveling in Southeast Asia. His stories, especially the ones from Laos, will make you want to shop around for flights just so you can see the beauty of the world with your own eyes.

Cultuurmarketing – A Dutch one, and not even about traveling. Mark writes about DIY marketing for artists in the Netherlands. He has some very helpful tips!

Brief Hiatus – She travels and tells stories, very good ones at that. She has a beautiful way with words and adds the right pictures so you can get a glimpse of faraway lands.

For everyone who’s nominated; I completely understand if you don’t have the time to dedicate an entire post towards paying it forward. That’s fine too. Just enjoy the appreciation I’d say :)

SunshineAward

Posted in: Inspiration