What A Difference A Day Made

Posted on December 14, 2012

2


Rome Colosseo By Night

Clouds and Mountains I felt like the worst girlfriend ever. Here we were, at Eindhoven airport, bags packed and ready to fly off to Rome for a romantic getaway. A boyfriend who surprises you with 2 plane tickets for your birthday, it couldn’t be more perfect. Then why wasn’t I excited?

It’s not that I didn’t want to go, I had always wanted to see the beauty of The Eternal City with my own eyes, and I couldn’t think of anybody better to share the experience with than Nick. The truth is, however, that I’m in the middle of therapy to get back on my feet again. The whole process has been rather exhausting, and going away for the weekend felt more like a challenging task than a relaxing event to look forward to. I felt awful, as Nick had arranged this with the best intentions. But even though I was grateful for the amazing gift, I was concerned I was going to disappoint him.

I explained what was going through my mind and he put his arms around me while assuring me that it was going to be okay.

After a slightly uncomfortable Ryanair flight, we arrived at Ciampino airport a few hours later. Exhausted from the day of traveling, we agreed we’d take things slow and move at our own pace. So after a short but tasty dinner, we called it a night.

In the light of the morning sun, everything felt different. After waking up slowly to the sounds of the city, one look out of the window told us it was going to be a beautiful day. Rushing with excitement, I got dressed as quickly as possible, excited to experience all that Rome has to offer.

We suck at self-timer shots.

We suck at self-timer shots.

And what a day it was. Our walk led us from Campo de Fiori to the Pantheon, from the Trevi Fountain to the Spanish Steps. We wandered around Trastevere and strolled along the riverside. We saw St. Peter’s square and marvelled at Castel Sant’Angelo. We drank coffee, ate pizza and enjoyed gelato. Without a plan or map, we did everything we wanted to do, when we wanted to do it.

Sitting down near the banks of the Tiber, we watched the sun set slowly over the buildings ahead, coloring the sky purple and casting a beautiful light on the most romantic city I’ve ever seen. Somehow, it put everything back into perspective. I took a deep breath and felt my body relax.

All the worries I had before going on this trip vanished into thin air and I didn’t want to be anywhere else. I looked into Nicks eyes and he smiled at me, as if he knew what I was thinking. There were no words necessary. Rome had been exactly what I needed.

Thank god, he doesn't look disappointed!

Thank god, he doesn’t look disappointed!

Tagged: , , ,