What 2013 Has In Store

Posted on January 14, 2013

4


planning

Yes, I realize I’m a bit late with the almost obligatory 2013 post. To be honest, I have no excuse other than the truth; I’ve been stuck in a rut for the last few weeks and sadly, that rut didn’t include a lot of writing. Even though I have to admit I quite enjoyed the lazing around, it’s time for me to get my ass back in gear!

First things first; a look at what 2013 will have in store for me.

South East Asia

Just 40 more days to go until the big leap into SouthEast Asian territory. I’ve been quite relaxed so far and haven’t really planned much yet, and I prefer to keep it that way. My idea is to book the first two nights of accommodation in Bangkok and just go from there. The only thing I’m certain of is that I’ll visit Thailand, Laos, Myanmar (Burma) and Singapore, but who knows where I’ll end up! I’m feeling a strong pull towards Penang… Or maybe Battambang in Cambodia. Or maybe I’ll just fly over to Indonesia or the Philippines! So much world to see, so little time…

Surprise! I’m going to Portugal!

My lover spoils me… last Christmas he surprised me with a variety of self-made gift certificates, and one of them was worth a weekend away to a destination of my choice (as if Rome wasn’t enough!) It didn’t take me long to choose, as I always had wanted to see Porto! We’ll be making our way there in the summer and of course you’ll read all about it on this blog.

The Road Rally to…

Destination: unknown. We’ve talked about it for 2 years now, but this time we’re finally going to make it a reality: in the summer my friends and I will be competing in a road rally, splitting up in different teams to hitchhike to a destination (yet to be determined). Whoever gets there first wins… well, nothing, but it’s a perfect excuse for a road trip :) We’ll be documenting our trips through photo’s and videos, and of course I’ll be writing all about it. Root for me!

Istanbul

Another present, I’m so incredibly lucky! My dear mom caught me completely off guard when she sent me a link to a booking website with a hotel on it and asked for my opinion. My simple “Yeah, that looks good!” was enough for her to book a 6 day trip for the both of us, straight away. Looks like I’m spending my birthday in Turkey this year!

Dublin

In October I’m planning on attending the European edition of travel blogging conference TBEX, this year held in Dublin. I’m eager to learn more about the blogging world, and as I’ve wanted to visit Ireland for quite some time, this would be a perfect opportunity.

Berlin

I’ve been invited to celebrate my very first Thanksgiving with a traditional turkey dinner by some of my American friends who live in Berlin. Naturally I said yes; although we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here in Holland I’ve always wanted to try some stuffed turkey myself! I’ve been to Berlin before, but only had a day to spare and can’t say that I got a really good feel of the city. This time around I hope I can at least spend a week there and discover the awesome Berlin everyone seems to rave about.

Image: onlinehero

Image: onlinehero

So there you have it, a very busy 2013 ahead! I can barely contain my excitement and am eager to do some research on these places, but for now, let’s take it one step at a time. Next stop: Bangkok, Thailand!

What are your plans for the new year? 

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Travel Plans